Tags

, , , , , , , ,

If there ever was a reason to have a sketchbook handy, my vote would be for drawing creatures in exotic places. Travel journals abound with wildlife, as do these great sketchbook examples.

Tarsio delle Filippine -Bruno Lubrano, illustrator

“I don’t know the Englsh name of this little wild animal! I just know it lives in Asia and it’s a nocturnal creature. It’s eyes and what it is eating grabbed my attention. Water Colour Pencils on Cartiera Magnani sketchbook.” -Bruno Lubrano

Debra Morris - A Cobra in Hong Kong

“The reason I live on the top floor……..this one visited my neighbours downstairs.” -Debra Morris, Hong Kong

"List of Animals I Saw" - Andrew Shek, Sketches from Trip to Tanzania

Be sure to browse Shek’s website,  especially his Pachyderm Reference Board, which shows the evolution of sketches like these into completed assignments for clients like Nickelodeon and Walt Disney Pictures.

Bill Sharp - White Nosed Coatimund, Costa Rica Sketch Journal

The rest of Bill Sharp’s Costa Rica journal is definitely worth a look, the record of an extensive journey through the country in thoughts and pictures.

